Pardon Me Whist I Dust Off The Keyboard

Holy moly it’s been a while! Yeah, I fell of the wagon again. Sorry, y’all. It’s been… well, let’s say it’s been a hell of a year. Lots of stuff going on, with a fair chunk of it being pretty lousy if I’m being honest. Can’t talk about it, unfortunately. Some stuff has lawyers involved, so I really can’t talk about it, but the rest I’ve just been asked not to make public. Don’t understand why exactly, but I’ll honor those wishes nevertheless. So, yeah, lots of bad news, a whole lot of changes, and long story short my familiar, comfortable world has been thrown for a loop. One thing I can say is that I’ll definitely be relocating in a few months, though where and when exactly I honestly have no clue. That one kinda came out of left field on me and I still haven’t come to terms with it 100%. But I’ll figure something out.

Anyways, remember that SIG P232 I bought back in February? Well, it broke. Again. So I sent it back to SIG and got it fixed, then promptly traded it in towards this little honey:

Ain't she a beauty?
Ain’t she a beauty?

It’s a 1911, specifically a Springfield Armory Range Officer Compact. Brand spankin’ new. First new gun I’ve ever bought, actually. Picked it up just about a month ago. And I really lucked out: the RO Compact is a brand-new model, so much so that mine was only the second example to pass through my favorite local gun dealer, and Number 1 had been a special order. Hadn’t even been planning on buying it, but I brought my P232 along with me to the LGS/range just in case I saw one in the display, and lo and behold, there it was.

I’ve only put maybe 250 rounds through it, but I love it. Fits my hand really well, balances nicely, and the recoil is surprisingly light for a compact aluminum-framed .45. Chalk that up to the dual-recoil spring setup. My only complaints thus far are that it’s a pain to field strip (full-length guide rods will do that to a 1911) and I’m not really a fan of the fiber-optic front sight. Looks and feels a touch on the fragile side, and when it gets covered with burnt powder residue, it doesn’t glow. I do plan on replacing the sights with some sort of tritium setup at some point in the future. Not sure exactly what kind, but that’s still a long ways off. In the meantime, I have a holster inbound for it. I’ll post a review on that once it arrives, as well as a full review of my RO Compact once I put more rounds through it. And come to think of it, I have never posted a review of my SIG P228. I will have to correct that oversight.

One final note before I sign off: I am going to renew my commitment to this blog. I will do my utmost to post regularly, though I can’t promise any sort of schedule. I need to get back on board the wagon with my writing in general, not just the blog. I do have a few ideas for articles/posts beyond the aforementioned gun and gear reviews. I’ll start posting them soon.

To my long-time readers, if you’re still here, thanks for sticking around even though I’ve been far less than faithful. Words can’t convey just how much that means to me.

Until next time, peace.

-Raptor

Leave a Reply

