Further Adventures of the New(ish) Shooter

It seems I’ve been remiss in updating the blog. Again. Yeah, I know, what else is new This time, I’ve been really remiss, because I’ve neglected to write about two gun-centric events that took place over the last month.

First: I found what I’m pretty sure is my Perfect Pistol. This is not a Holy Grail Gun, i.e. the a gun I dream of owning one day regardless of practicality or shoot-ability. Rather, this is my Ideal Handgun, the one that fits me perfectly. I made this discovery purely by accident, as I was only shooting it for research purposes: the protagonist in a manuscript I’m working on carries one. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting to like it very much. Imagine my surprise when I fell in love at first shot.

What is this Perfect Pistol? Surprise, surprise, it’s a Browning Hi-Power.

Image from Browning.com

John Moses Browning’s final design, what I’ve come to consider to be the finest handgun ever made. Sorry, 1911 fans, but I call it like I see it.

The Hi-Power gets a lot of grief today for a few reasons. First, it’s a 9mm. Second, the magazine “only” holds 13 rounds. Third, it has a magazine disconnect feature. Forth, because of said mag disconnect, magazines don’t drop free. Well, I got news for you, all those so-called flaws are easily corrected. With modern defensive ammo, 9mm is more than adequate. 15-round magazines are available from Mec-Gar (who also make the standard 13-round mags for Browning), bringing capacity up to modern standards. And the magazine disconnect can easily be modified to allow mags to drop free, or else removed entirely if you don’t want it. Personally, I don’t care either way.

I will own one someday. That’s not a dream, oh no: that’s a fact!

Second, and what y’all will probably find more interesting: I fired a submachine gun last week. Specifically, a Colt M-635 9mm.

Image from Wikipedia.

What did I think? Let’s put it this way: I now understand why a full-auto selector switch is known in some circles as “the giggle switch.” It’s been over a week, and I still can’t talk about it without starting to cackle like a crazy person. Heck, I’m smiling right now as I type this.

The gun itself was in sad shape. The pin that holds on the dust cover and brass deflector had backed out about a third of the way and had bent so it couldn’t be re-inserted, and the gun jammed on me at least one a magazine. And I don’t just mean a simple failure to eject, I mean stovepiping and double-feeding at the same time.  But even so, it was a crazy-good time. Honestly, the only reason I don’t do it more often is because it’s expensive! It took me just fifteen minutes to burn through two boxes of ammo, and the vast majority of that time was spent being instructed on how to operate the gun and then loaded (and reloading) the magazine. I read someplace once that “full auto is the fastest, easiest way to turn money into noise.” Whoever said that wasn’t kidding.

Doesn’t mean I don’t want to do it again, though. *wink-wink*

I’ve also decided that I am definitely going to obtain a concealed carry permit. However, this has yielded a small issue: my SIG-Sauer P228 is to wide for me to easily conceal. Now, it’s not a big gun, nor is it overly wide, but I’m 5′ 11″ and skinny as a rail, so if I carry the SIG, it will almost certainly print. And I don’t feel like going out and purchasing a whole new wardrobe to try and solve this problem. So that means I’m looking for a dedicated carry piece.

I’ll be dedicating an entire series of posts to this, writing informal reviews on each gun that I test. In fact, I’ve already began. The first review, as well as an introduction to the series, will be up shortly.

Until then, peace.

-Raptor

Leave a Reply

