The Spark is Gone

I don’t usually do personal posts like this, but I think I owe you all this one. Consider it an explanation as to why I haven’t posted anything since Memorial Day.

My spark’s gone. My creativity, my creative juices, my inspiration, whatever you want to call it, whatever ability I had to take random thoughts & ideas and commit them to paper… I don’t seem to have it anymore.

Honestly, I haven’t written any substantial amount of anything of substance since… well… I can’t remember when. My “writing time,” if you can even call it that, has consisted of sitting in front of my computer, staring at  a blank Word Document/blog post for hours. And I can’t bang out a single sentence. Not. One. Lousy. Freakin’. Sentence. I kid you not, this blog post will be the most substantial thing I’ve written in a long time.

But here’s the thing; it’s not like I can’t come up with ideas. I can, and do, all the time. Literally. But as soon as I sit down in front of the laptop and fire up Word, or even pull out an ol’ fashioned notebook and pen… *POOF!* Everything’s gone. I got nothin’. All I can do is sit there and stare at a blank page/screen. Nothing comes, even if I try and force it.

So where am I going with this ramble? Honestly, I think my time as a writer is over. I’ve got nothing left. I’m sick and tired of trying to force stuff onto the page and failing miserably.  So I think it’s time to hang up the pen/keyboard/whatever. Unfortunately, this goes for Raptor’s Nest as well. I think this is going to be the last post I add to the nest. I’m not going to delete the blog, however.  If, by some miracle, my spark comes back, I might pick it back up again.

I don’t know what God has planned for me, but I don’t think being a writer is it anymore. I just pray I figure out what His plan is: writing’s the only thing I’m good at, or was good at, and I really don’t want to spend the rest of my life working customer service.

To all my readers, I’m sorry it has to end like this. Thanks for sticking with me. It’s been a nice run. Take care, y’all.

-Raptor

2 thoughts on “The Spark is Gone

  1. Bud, ya’ll ain’t the Lone Ranger. No requirement that you be “bright-eyed and bushy-tailed” during each post. The requirement is that you write/rant.
    Had the same thing but am fighting through it. Good luck, amigo.

Leave a Reply

