Been a While…

First off, Happy New Year everyone!

Yes, I realize I’ve been lax on blogging for quite some time, and I owe y’all another installment of my Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse series, among other things. However, this time I have a legitimate excuse for my non-posting!

First, a little bit of backstory. About eighteen months ago, George “The Mad Ogre” Hill started posting a story over on WeTheArmed.com. He called it ‘Uprising’ and it was about him and his family during a theoretical zombie apocalypse. Well, it didn’t take long for the thread to take off: multiple members began contributing to the thread, and others started their own spin-off threads. It got so huge (over 1200 posts) that George started up a new thread to continue his part of the story. The two “main” threads have accumulated nearly 2,000 posts and over 61,000 individual hits. So, yeah, it’s pretty huge over on WTA.

Anyway, I’m not sure of exactly how this went down, but last year George re-wrote his story in the first two threads and got them published by a small publishing house (Uprising USA and Uprising UK are both available on Amazon and through B&N, btw) and as I understand it, they’ve been huge hits. George is presently under contract for two more books in the series.

Now, the publisher knows that the stories started as threads on WTA, and he knows that many people have written their own stories in George’s universe. So, and again I’m not 100% sure how this came about, George and his publisher are going to put out an anthology of short stories set in the Uprising universe. And, as you’ve probably guessed already, I’m going to submit something.

So that’s the long and short (mostly long) of why I haven’t posted in a while. My short story, which is a major re-working of the two aborted storylines I posted on WTA a while back, is eating up a good chunk of my free time and nearly all of my creative juices. But I will get a post up soon. Probably the next installment in the STaZ series, maybe a few other things. Got something that’s been bugging me for the last few days; I’ll probably write on that as well. I know, I’ve said that before, but I’m serious this time. This thing just won’t let go.

So, until next time, peace.

-Raptor

Leave a Reply

