I Live!

Blogging has been light for a while… yet again. Chalk it up to life, the universe, and everything else being crazy. Mostly life, specifically work. I swear, when I become Benevolent Dictator for Life, everyone will have to spend six months working in a customer service position. I guarantee you people would be infinitely more polite and patient than they are now.

Besides work, I have been writing. Not as much as I’d like to be, but writing nonetheless. My novel, which I am no longer calling Dead Reckoning  is on hold, partly because it turns out that’s also the title of one of the True Blood books, and no way is my novel sharing the name of a vampire romance book. Mostly it’s because I’m working on grad-school applications (rather halfheartedly, I must confess) and some short stories. I’ve done some research, and it’s my understanding that getting a short story published in a periodical or anthology is much easier than getting a novel published, and publishing houses are more likely to consider a submitted manuscript if the author already has several works in print. The one piece I’m working on right now I’m going to submit to Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, so I’ll let y’all know how that turns out.

On a more blog-related note, I’ve recently developed a… fascination, for want of a better word, with zombies. Specifically, the zombie apocalypse and how to survive it.  Some of you long-time readers (if there are any left…) might remember last year when I became briefly involved with George Hill’s Uprising thread over on We The Armed. Incidentally, Uprising USA and it’s sequel, Uprising UK are both available from Amazon in both paperback and Kindle versions, but I digress. Between that thread and playing Humans vs. Zombies on campus, I’ve become more and more intrigued by zombies and the zombie apocalypse, and getting back to my original point, I feel a series of posts coming on about Zombie Apocalypse Preparedness. Weapons, supplies, strategies/tactics, etc.

This will be happening, I give you my word. Look for the first post, which will probably be weapons-related, to go up in the next few days (probably tomorrow, as that’s my day off this week.) Until then, peace.

-Raptor

 

Leave a Reply

