C’est La Vie

Yes, I know the title of this post is French.

Anyway, apologies for the lack of substantial updates. I know, it’s a running theme with the blog. Unfortunately, it wasn’t avoidable this time: life has really been kickin’ my @$$.

Like I said earlier, I was transferred over to a new department at work. Turns out that said department is a lot more intense than my old one. After a 5-hour shift, I find myself pretty much whooped. 8 hours? Does the word “zombie” mean anything to you? Fortunately, my supervisor says I’ll be able to alternate back and forth between my old department and my current one in a week or so.

As if that wasn’t enough, right about the time I finished up getting trained in this new department, I developed a kidney stone. I know, I don’t believe it either. Heck, I’m 23, I’m not supposed to get kidney stones! But alas… anyway, felt cruddy for about a week before I went to the ER to get checked out (it was a Sunday and my normal doc was out of the office). Fortunately, the pain wasn’t excruciating, just uncomfortable. But then again, I’m the guy that walked into the ER standing upright with an appendix that was getting ready to rupture, so take that for what you will.

As if that wasn’t enough, we had to put my dog down. That actually happened over a month ago, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to write about it until now. Long story short, he had a massive tumor in his heart that was causing his heart to bleed into his lungs. God, I miss him so much.

On a positive note, Little Brother came home for about a week, so I’ve been hanging with him a lot. Don’t tell anyone, but I missed him when he was Down South. The South seems to be having a positive impact on him: he’s turning into a stereotypical (but still quirky) Southern Gentleman, he’s becoming a little more Conservative/Libertarian (thank God) and he’s softening his views on guns. I chalk the last two up to his friend, who I understand is almost exactly like me. Creepy.

I’ve also had the privilege of reading two excellent novels since my last post: Monster Hunter Alpha by Larry Correia, and the e-ARC of Dead Six by Correia and Mike Kupari. Reviews on those will be forthcoming, I promise.

Speaking of books, Uprising USA by George Hill is now available as an e-book, and in paperback at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I read the “rough draft” over on WeTheArmed, and let me tell you, it’s a spectacular story. It’s also part one of an upcoming four-part series. Best of all, the pre-orders and e-book sales were so good, it looks like the publisher is also going to put out manuscripts from people who participated in the original WTA thread. As a result, the novel I mentioned I was working on earlier, T.I.A., has officially been superseded by Uprising: Pennsylvania. Which actually stinks a little bit, because I’ve been bitten by the write-a-Western bug again. We’ll see how that turns out…

Leave a Reply

