The History Channel Did Not Do The Research!

Yes, I know the After Action Report of my Williamsburg trip is long overdue. Sorry. I’ve been working on revising Dead Reckoning to get it publication-worthy, and for the last few days I’ve been completely re-writing a few sections, so that’s been taking up most of my creative juices. I’ll have the AAR up ASAP, I promise.

Now to the subject of this post: I was taking a quick break from my writing and decided to turn on The History Channel. I tuned in right in the middle of an episode of Gangland. I didn’t catch which gang they were profiling: all I know it’s a Hispanic gang based in Tennessee.

Anyway, the show was describing the gang’s affinity for “automatic handguns.” Technically handguns are semi-auto, but “automatic” has been a common descriptor for decades so I’ll let it slide. But what really got me was when one of the gangbangers the show interviewed was describing his favorite gun. The young man claims to favor the “Glock Forty,” or a Glock pistol chambered in the .40 Smith & Wesson cartridge. He said he likes it because “it’s big,” so I’m assuming the specific variant in question is a Glock Model 22.

That wasn’t the “Did Not Do the Research” Moment. No, the DNDRM happened when they showed a picture of said “Glock Forty.” The picture the show put up was of a Colt Model 1911 Government Model. How do I know this? First, as my gun-loving readers know, the Glock and the 1911 do not look similar at all, and second because they zoomed in on the image enough that you could clearly see the Colt rollmarks on the slide.

For my readers who don’t know all that much about guns, here’s what I’m talking about:

THIS is a Glock Model 22 (aka “Glock Forty”):

and THIS is a Colt Model 1911 Government (specifically a variant known as the XSE):


(*note that the images are not to scale: in real life both pistols are about the same height and the Colt is longer than the Glock)

Yeah, kinda easy to tell apart, aren’t they?

Oh brother. For a show that runs on the so-called History Channel, you think they’d have done enough research to be able to tell a Colt 1911 (which by the way is a very historic gun: “1911” indicates the year it was adopted by the US Army) apart from a Glock.

History Channel: you FAILED.

Leave a Reply

