The 2011 Chevrolet Camaro – Yawn.

Some of you might have already figured this out, but I am an unashamed gearhead. I love cars, especially muscle cars. So like most gearheads, I was heartbroken when Chevrolet discontinued the legendary Camaro back in 2002, and was thrilled when I learned they’d be bringing it back in 2010. At the time, the Camaro was my dream car. Of course, this was before I discovered the 1969 Pontiac GTO. (Me, a redneck? Whatever gave you that idea?  😉 )

Anyway, I went to get my haircut this morning, and when I returned, I discovered that a brand-new 2011 Camarro RS/SS had parked in the space behind my car. It looked pretty much exactly like this:

…only the one I saw had twin black racing stripes down the hood.

Now me being me, I just had to go over and gawk at the Camaro. I looked at it for about 30 seconds before I realized something: I really don’t like the new Camaro.

Granted, this wasn’t the first time I’ve seen a new Camaro in person, or even on the street. I kinda liked the look when I first saw the concept car version, but it’s been wearing on my ever since. Today, I think I finally figured out why: the car doesn’t look like a real car. No, it looks like a life-size Matchbox or Hot Wheels car. And no matter how hard I try, I just can’t make myself like that style anymore.

Honestly, if I want something that looks like a Matchbox or a Hot Wheels model, I’ll buy a Matchbox or a Hot Wheels model. If I want something that looks like a badass muscle car, I’ll buy one of these:

Yeah… that’s more like it.

Leave a Reply

