Gonna Be A Long Couple of Nights…

First off, apologies in advance in this post feels like it has ADHD. I’ll explain why that is in a second.

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a real bad case of hives. I think I have an allergy to corn. Anyway, this case is real bad; I have hives pretty much everywhere. And they itch. Really bad. So like I said, they’ve been bugging me on and off for about 3 weeks now. I’ve been having flare-ups at like 3:00 AM, not getting sleep, it’s been rough. I’d been taking some over-the-counter meds to combat them, but they haven’t really been all that effective. Friday, it felt like they’d stopped working altogether. It was bad. I’ll spare you the details.

Anyway, I finally asked my doctor if there was anything else I could do (I know, I’m a bone-head of a patient), and he gave me a prescription for a steroid. The legal kind, don’t worry. Unfortunately, by the time I got the prescription, it was about 5:30 PM, and the doc wanted me to take 3 pills right away for the first dose. Let’s see here: 3 steroid pills, that will get me all wired, in the evening? Yeah, right. Plus, there’s a chance they can bother my stomach. So, I only took 1 pill (I’ll take the other 2 tomorrow, don’t worry).

Long story short, The hives have died down, the itching’s pretty much gone away, but I’ve been wired and antsy ever since. Can’t really focus all that well for very long. Can’t really sit still either. I guess this is what having ADHD feels like. And it’s just about 1:45 in the morning, and I’m still wide awake and hyper. And I get to take 2 pills tomorrow (I guess later today), and I’m gonna be on this steroid for about a week.

Yeah… it’s gonna be a long couple of nights. This is gonna stink…

Leave a Reply

