Every Number 1 Single EVER… AT ONCE!

…Well, sort of.

But before I get into the meat of this post, I think I need to explain something. I don’t read Salon.com, well… ever. But when one of my Facebook Friends posted this link, I decided I had to give it a shot.

Salon.com has compiled every single #1 music single from the early 1950’s through the end of 1990s, excerpted roughly five seconds from each song, and spliced them together into one long track. Actually, it’s two long tracks, I guess because the file was just too big to upload all at once. It’s epic (using the correct definition of the word) and very awesome. If you were born any time in the last 70 years or so, it’s definitely worth checking out.

Here’s the link. Be warned, though: the two parts add up to approximate 75 minutes of non-stop music, so make sure you have a lot of free time before you start listening.

Now that I think about it, this adds further reinforcement to my belief that I was born in the wrong decade: I know nearly all of the songs included in the first 45 minutes (and like most of those), but once I passed the 45 minute mark, I started recognized fewer and fewer of the songs (and enjoyed fewer still). After the 53 minute mark, I hardly recognized any of them. And as near as I can figure, I was born at about the 59 minute mark. Figures.

Regardless, if you’re a music lover in the slightest, you should definitely check out the ubertrack. Enjoy the music and the memories.

EDITED TO ADD:

Forget the link, I figured out how to embed the tracks directly into the post.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

