I Still Remember

I still remember where I was when I heard. It was 9:45 in the morning. I was in 6th Grade, in the nurse’s office having my morning snack. I have hypoglycemia and needed to eat every few hours, but because of the No Food In The Classroom rule, I had to eat in the Nurse’s office.

The principal came on the PA system and said that a small plane had hit the World Trade Center. I thought it was an accident. Then the nurse, who was on the phone with her daughter, screamed “They bombed the Pentagon!” And I knew that it wasn’t an accident.

The nurse put down the phone and told me to go back to class. I asked what was going on. She wouldn’t answer, instead shooing me out of the room. With no other option, I went back to class. The teacher had the TV on, tuned to CNN. I still remember the first thing I saw when I walked through the door:

I still remember feeling sick. I still remember Mr. DiMarino finally turning off the TV and trying to teach. I can’t remember what the lesson was. I doubt he does either. He turned the TV back on after about 10 minutes. I still remember the first thing that I saw:

I still remember the fear, the horror, the sadness, and the anger. I still remember wondering what was going to be hit next, still remember wondering if my Dad was on a business trip that day or not. I still remember the overwhelming relief when I learned that he was at home. And I still remember the tears of my classmates who had relatives who had been there. I remember one boy, I never knew his name, who had family in one of the towers. I don’t think they made it out. I still remember crying for him.

I still remember what those monsters did to us. I will never forget.

What about you? Do you still remember where you were, do you still remember your tears? Or can you not understand why some racist Tea Partiers are upset about a mosque being built near some random construction sight?

September 11, 2001

Never Forget

Never Forgive


2 thoughts on “I Still Remember

Leave a Reply

