RvD2

Whoever said that a sequel can never be as good as the original…

…hasn’t seen this yet. After this, they have to make RvD3!

Lucas should’ve hired these guys to choreograph Episodes II and III. Ray Park (Darth Maul) choreographed Ep. I, which is (I think) on a similar level with RvD2.

What I’d really like to see is Ryan Wieber and Michael Scott make/work on a fanfilm that actually has a decent story. Why? Because the few that do have decent stories (see here) have absolutely horrid lightsaber choreography. And the films that do have good fight choreography are usually just lightsaber duels with little to no (usually the latter) plot whatsoever. I for one would like to see the best of both: a Star Wars FanFilm with a good story and good choreography. But that’s probably never going to happen. Actually, it did, sort of. Check out The Formula. Only, that’s not a fanfilm so much as it is a film about making a fanfilm, so it doesn’t really count. BTW, if you do watch The Formula, make sure you view the Enriched version.

Speaking of which, I finally finished writing the screenplay for my fanfilm. Actually, I should say that nerdjedi and I finished writing the screenplay for our fanfilm. See, I knew that there’s no way in H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks that I could write, film, direct, edit, and otherwise produce a film of any kind, much less a Star Wars FanFilm, and unfortunately for me, all of my friends are away at college. And even if they weren’t, our first-and hopefully only-attempt at making a movie was a complete disaster *shudders at the memories*, so I’d have to fine somewhere else to turn anyways. (Guys, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry, but it is true.) So that left nerdjedi. After some convincing persuasion, he agreed to help me, but only on the condition that the film involve Doctor Who. Since no amount of persuading, coercing, arguing, begging, pleading, or groveling (yes, I was that desperate) would make him change his mind, I had no choice but to go along with it.

So, after several painstaking delays (the vast majority caused by Sweeny Todd), the first draft of what is-to my knowledge-the first and only Star Wars/Doctor Who crossover screenplay ever. It still needs a bit of cleaning up, but now that Sweeny‘s winding down that shouldn’t take to long. And hopefully it can be filmed by the time I head back to school in August/September/Whenever.

Also, I should probably throw this out there (because if I don’t he’ll hunt me down and torment me), but nerdjedi actually did most of the work on the screenplay. It’s five pages long, I wrote about the first page and a half, and with the exception of some dialogue and stage directions, nerdjedi wrote the rest. So many thanks and kudos to him for his hard work in bringing the screenplay to completion.

Leave a Reply

